07/12/14, 12:33 AM   #1
AshySamurai

Combat skills mechanics

Hi everybody! (Hi dr.Nick ). It's not my first mounth of the game and I still like it. And I create not a few toons to try ALL and find out what I like more. But one thing I'm not sure - it is combat mechanic. So let me explain what is wrong. For example puncturing strikes (Templar aedric spear skill line).
- Range of this skill - 8 meters.
- This skill uses magika.
- This skill uses weapon crit.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eGOwZHb4sXY
This video is pretty old (25 march) and ZOS could change all this.
So is puncturing strikes a melee attack?
Or searing strike (5m) or lava whip(8m) (DK ardent flame skill line). Are they melee?
What skill is melee and what is range?
For me if you can attack only for 8m or nearer - it is melee, but I'm not a developer, so I don't know for sure. Or if skill use weapon crit - it should be a melee. This seems a pretty logical too.
And how about passives like red diamond (Imperial healing passive)? It says that it have chanse on melee atack, so is it any melee atack or only weapon attack?
Sorry if I choose a wrong thread.
07/12/14, 03:08 AM   #2
zgrssd
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Thier primary goal since release was it to get the Classes balanced. They needed to fix that one first, for all further balancing. They have now mostly done that.
Now they have time to buff up the STAM skills on the Class skill level and balance the PVE content a bit (as evidenty with the last two patces).

Once that is done and if they did not get new balance issues (with Dark Botherhood and Thievesguild skillines) they will propably deal with those minor mistakes.
The classes are mostly balanced as they are now. Fixing anything in this area might break the balance again, so they naturally keep changes there off till they* really have nothing else to do.

*The skill balancing team. Not the whole of all developers.
07/12/14, 03:24 AM   #3
AshySamurai