Thread Tools Display Modes
08/03/23, 02:49 AM   #1
Splat
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 7
Detect use of Group Repair Kit

Is it possible to detect the use of a group repair kit if its used by another player in a group?
  Reply With Quote
08/03/23, 05:52 AM   #2
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,989
Normally group data is not send.


The EVENT_INVENTORY_SINGLE_SLOT_UPDATE triggers with the InventoryUpdateReason INVENTORY_UPDATE_REASON_DURABILITY_CHANGE.
As there is no special update reason for the group repair kit I guess you cannot differ from a self repair by using a kit at your own char, or any group triggered one.

Maybe a group repair kit triggers any other special API.
I haven't found any though.


If all group members use the same addon you could share the "usage of a group repair kit" via https://www.esoui.com/downloads/info...oupSocket.html
  Reply With Quote
08/03/23, 11:43 AM   #3
Splat
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 7
Thanks for the info, pretty much as I expected, I couldn't find anything related either. I may go down the group route.
  Reply With Quote
08/03/23, 08:52 PM   #4
ZOS_DanBatson
ZOS Staff!
 
ZOS_DanBatson's Avatar
Yes this person is from ZeniMax!
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 181
EVENT_INVENTORY_SINGLE_SLOT_UPDATE does have "triggeredByCharacterName" and "triggeredByDisplayName" and I believe, lookig at the code, that that gets filled out when it's a group repair action with who did the triggering. Not 100% certain, but Id look at that and see if it helps.'

In theory, if that works, it would let you tell when your gear was repaired by someone in your group. It would not necessarily help you distinguish between you repairing your own gear with your own repair kits of various kinds, though.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/23, 11:10 AM   #5
sinnereso
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2022
Posts: 245
something like this might be useful to determine it wasn't you doing the repair once you get "triggeredByDisplayName" into a variable:

Code:
if "triggeredByDisplayName" ~= GetUnitDisplayName("player") then
     blah blah
end

Last edited by sinnereso : 08/04/23 at 11:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
08/04/23, 11:33 AM   #6
Baertram
Super Moderator
 
Baertram's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4,989
GetDisplayName() returns the accountName of the current player. No need to use GetUnitDisplayName("player")
  Reply With Quote

ESOUI » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » Detect use of Group Repair Kit


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off